The best way to protect your personal data on an iPhone or other Apple device is to enable its lost mode feature. This feature is so effective that will enable you to track and lock your iPhone device in case it gets stolen or lost.
Once you enable lost mode you will be able to protect your iPhone with password even from a remote distance, and in case it is lost you can add a custom message to notify the eventual finder to return the phone to the original owner.
Activate the lost mode feature of your iPhone
When the lost mode is activated, nobody will be capable of reactivating or using the device without entering the proper Apple login data. In this article you will find out all about lost mode and how to activate this feature on iPhone or iPad even when the device is lost or stolen.
To enable lost mode directly from Find my iPhone on your Apple device just go to iCLoud.com from your phone’s browser.
Step by step guide to enable the lost mode feature
First step: Open Find my iPhone and login using your Apple ID. Remember that you can log in with different iPhone device but you must provide the iCloud Activation Lock for the iPhone which you want to put into lost mode
Second step: After you have successfully logged in, a map will be displayed showing you a list of devices which are connected to your device. From the list choose the particular device you want to put into lost mode
Third step: Select Actions—Lost Mode and choose Turn on Lost mode
Fourth step: If the iPhone which you intend to enter into lost mode is not Passcode protected, you will be asked to set one, so once you have successfully entered the Passcode press on Agree. After the Passcode is confirmed and activated, you will be prompted to proceed with the next step
Fifth step: At this point you will be asked to enter a valid phone number which can be used to contact you. That particular phone number will be displayed on the lock screen. Once you are finished click Next
Sixth step: You will be asked to enter your custom message. This message will also be shown on the lock screen of the lost device. You can either set the default message “iPhone has been lost, Please call me” or you can set your own. Click on done after you have finished this step
Once the lost mode feature of your iPhone is activated, the device will show a red banner at the top of the screen and lock icon will appear. The custom message and the phone number will also be shown.
In case someone tries to unauthorizedly access your device or try to restore it using iTunes, they will not be successful unless they know the proper Apple login credentials.
How to deactivate lost mode?
There are two possible ways to deactivate the lost mode feature on your device, you can disable it directly from the iPhone or from find my iPhone feature.
To disable the lost mode directly from your device just enter the adequate Passcode.
Alternatively you can disable the lost mode directly from Find my iPhone by accessing the feature from your iPhone—then select the device which is entered into iPhone and press on lost mode—from here you will be able to turn off lost mode.