Keeping our iPhone data is very important because we all appreciate our privacy. But there are many users who simply do not pay enough attention to this, and become involved in various situations where their private data may be leaked or forever lost. For instance, everytime you sync your iCloud accounts from any platform such as Dropbox or iCloud, in a situation when you change or permanently delete an account there is a possibility that you may lose all of your iPhone data.
But even if you do not end up losing all of your data , there is still possibility that some of the data may end up getting merged with different data so you will be put in a situation where it will be very difficult to return you iPhone in the state as it was at the beginning.
How to safely remove or change iCloud account on iPhone or iPad
The problem of losing or having some data merged with different data has been reported quite often as of recently especially from those users who have synced several accounts on iOS and Mac devices.
In this article we will take a look at the issue of why some data ends up being synced, merged or lost while the other is retained. It is really important to know all of this so in the future you will not have to deal with such trivial issues when you want to change or add a new iCloud account on your iOS device.
First of all, changing iCloud account on an iOS device is a direct process. There are two steps which you need to complete. The first one requires from you to remove iCloud Lock from your device while the second one requires that you log in to your iPhone with a new account. On first thought this seems as a simple procedure but believe me it can be a bit tricky. And that has nothing to do with data loss. During the process of changing an iCloud account, your main concern should not be whether you will end up losing your iOS device data because that data is stored safely on iCloud. You may have problem of changing the iCloud account due to the fact that your device is iCloud locked. So in order to go thru this problem you will be required to Bypass iCloud Activation lock and permanently remove the iCloud locked account form the device.
And locked iCloud account can cause some serious problems when a data merge occurs because some of the data may be retained in the old iCloud account. So when you add a new account and you try to sync to this account the syncing will be imbalanced and you will be unable to properly access your device.
Change or remove the Account info of your iCloud account
- Go to your device Settings and select iCloud
- At the bottom of the page there is section “Delete Account”. Tap on it and a new screen will be shown
- You can now choose whether you want to keep the data on your iPhone or you want to delete it by selecting “Keep on my iPhone” or “Delete from my iPhone”. If you choose to delete, all the data will be removed from your iPhone but not from the iCloud.
- Go back to SettingsàiCloud and select Add a new iCloud Account. You will be asked whether you want to merge your iCloud data with the enabled services such as Calendars, Contacts and Reminders.
- Once the merging process is finished, all the data which was retained on your device will be synced to the new iCloud account that you just added
This is the entire procedure of changing or removing an iCloud account. By going thru this method all the notifications, photo syncs and similar services that were configured on other devices using the old iCloud account will be stopped.